A Recurring Problem

At the moment, a man named Andrew Squervil is sitting at a bar in a tavern, drinking an alcoholic beverage, annoyed about his most recent failed attempt to marry a rich woman for her money.

“Another,” Andrew says, speaking to the bartender on duty.

The bartender makes another alcoholic beverage for Andrew.

“Why are you drinking so much tonight, Andrew?” the bartender says, asking more out of boredom than concern.

“I got dumped by a woman,” Andrew says.

“So, what do you care?” the bartender says. “You go through women like candy.”

“This woman was different,” Andrew says.

“How so?” the bartender says.

“She’s rich,” Andrew says. “Very rich. I planned to marry her for her money. And I was so close to accomplishing that. So very, very close. But then she caught me cheating on her with her maid.”

“This sounds like a story I’ve heard from you before,” the bartender says.

“Why do all the rich women I try to marry always have such attractive maids?” Andrew says.

“Life is unfair,” the bartender says.

Having lost interest in Andrew’s plight, the bartender begins conversing with someone else sitting at the bar.

