A New Swan

Today, a man named Orvel is in an excellent mood. That is because he is currently in a romantic relationship with a beautiful woman named Sabrina Sentera. Orvel is madly in love with Sabrina, even though they’ve only been dating for a week. Orvel is certain that, as long as he sustains his relationship with Sabrina, he will be happy for the rest of his life.

At the moment, Orvel is walking toward Sabrina’s apartment to meet Sabrina for their next date. Outside of Sabrina’s apartment, Orvel knocks on its front door.

Sabrina opens the door. She is looking quite beautiful tonight.

“You are looking quite beautiful tonight,” Orvel says.

He leans in to kiss her. She backs away.

“What’s wrong?” Orvel says.

“Orvel, I have to break up with you,” Sabrina says.

Orvel is devastated. “What?” he says. “Why?”

“The Swans told me they will let me join their group, but only if I end my relationship with you,” Sabrina says.

The Swans are a very exclusive, very powerful social clique consisting of five rich women. They are very, very popular. Many, many women want to be Swans. Sabrina was recently selected to be a candidate for Swan membership.

“The Swans also said that if I ever get back together with you in the future, my Swan membership will be revoked,” Sabrina says. “So this is goodbye, Orvel.”

“But can’t you get them to change their minds?” Orvel says.

Sabrina shakes her head sadly. “The Swans all dislike you,” she says. “Especially Keeka.”

Keeka is Orvel’s ex-girlfriend.

“But surely, you can’t think that becoming a Swan is more important than our relationship!” Orvel says. “I love you! And you love me! Our relationship is more important than you getting to join some silly social clique!”

“‘Some silly social clique’?” Sabrina says, enraged. “How can you say that? Do you have any idea how much it means to me to become a Swan? The Swans were all right about you: you’re a thoughtless, insensitive, unsupportive monster!”

“But Sabrina, please-” Orvel says.

“Goodbye, Orvel!” Sabrina says. “I don’t love you anymore and I don’t want to ever see you again!”

Sabrina slams the door shut, then locks it. Orvel walks away sadly.

Later, in a lavish ceremony occurring in one of the Swans’ mansions, Sabrina becomes a Swan and simultaneously forgets all about Orvel. This is the happiest day of her life.

